Easter Basket Cupcakes

Easter Basket Cupcakes

Easter Basket Cupcakes

Is anyone as surprised as I am that Easter is this weekend? I didn’t realize the holiday was right around the corner, until I looked at the calendar earlier this week and, there it was.

I’m so glad I had the good fortune to look at the calendar, because I really wanted to make these cute little Easter Basket Cupcakes for Easter this year, and if I hadn’t seen that the holiday was fast approaching, it would have come and gone and I would have missed my chance.

I had so much fun making these cupcakes – from hunting in the grocery store for tiny jelly beans to place on top, to coloring the coconut to look like grass. I even found some cute colored ice cream cones at the grocery store, which I think make the perfect base for these cupcakes.

The next time I make these though, I’ll try to figure out a way to make an edible handle for the baskets. Any ideas?

Have a very happy Easter Sunday everyone!!

~Enjoy~




Easter Basket Cupcakes

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup butter, softened
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 tablespoons lemon juice
3 large eggs
1 cup milk

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Stand 18 ice cream cones up in a 13 x 9 inch pan.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar together. Add eggs, one at a time, and beat until fully incorporated. Stir in lemon juice. Alternately beat in the milk and flour mixture until well combined.

Spoon the batter into the ice cream cones. Bake for approximately 15 to 20 minutes, or until the cupcakes are deep golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the center of a cupcake comes out clean.

Remove to a wire rack to cool. When cupcakes have cooled, cut off the cylindrical lower half of the ice cream cone.

Frost with Buttercream Frosting and decorate with Coconut Easter Grass and Jelly Beans.

Makes 18 cupcakes



Buttercream Frosting

1/2 cup butter, softened
2 cups powdered sugar
1 tablespoon milk
3-4 drops green food coloring

Directions:
Cream butter with an electric mixer until light and fluffy. Gradually add powdered sugar; mix until completely combined. Add milk and beat until well combined. If necessary, add more milk to thin or more powdered sugar to thicken frosting to desired texture.

Coconut Easter Grass

2 cups sweetened, shredded coconut
Green food coloring

Directions:
Place coconut in a zip-top plastic bag. Add 4 to 5 drops of food coloring. Seal bag shut. Shake and massage the bag to coat all the pieces of coconut with coloring. Add additional food coloring if the color is not dark enough.

Coconut Easter Grass

Coconut Easter Grass

8 Responses

  1. Red Vines, Twizzlers or red licorice ropes would work well for the handles!

  2. Really festive and yummy looking cupcakes. The perfect Easter treat!
    I was going to suggest the same thing that nikireagan has already suggested for the basket handles. Handles – or no handles – these cupcakes are winners. ;)

    • Thanks, Mom! I’m definitely going to try nikireagan’s suggestion for the handles next time. I think they would work really well. :)

  3. These really look too pretty to eat.

  4. I love the Coconut Easter Grass! What a fun and creative idea. And of course the cupcakes look delish too. :p Thank you for sharing.

  5. […] but I should be back to posting again soon. In the meantime, I hope you enjoy this photo from the Easter Basket Cupcakes I made back in […]

Leave a Reply

