Homemade Irish Cream

Homemade Irish Cream

Homemade Irish Cream

St Patrick’s Day is right around the corner, and what better way to celebrate the holiday than with this Homemade Irish Cream. If there’s one liqueur I really love, it’s got to be Irish Cream. I enjoy sipping it plain, or stirred into a nice, hot cup of coffee. I should probably warn you though – this recipe makes a rather strong liqueur, so you may need to adjust the amount of whiskey you add a bit. I would start with adding one cup of whiskey, and then adding up to 1/2 cup more -depending on your taste.

Now even though I enjoy Irish Cream “as-is”, I’m not planning on drinking all of this liqueur. I plan on using at least some of it in a couple of treats that I plan on baking in the next few days. Of course, I’ll post the recipes and photos of the baked goods here on my blog, once I finish making them, so stay tuned…

~Enjoy~




Homemade Irish Cream

1 (14 ounce) can sweetened condensed milk, or 14 ounces of homemade sweetened condensed milk (recipe below)
1 1/2 cups Irish whiskey
1 teaspoon instant coffee granules
2 tablespoons chocolate syrup
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 teaspoon almond extract

Directions:
Combine all ingredients in a blender. Blend on high power for about 20-30 seconds.
Store tightly sealed in the refrigerator. Shake well before using.

Makes approximately 25.4 fluid ounces.



Homemade Sweetened Condensed Milk

1/2 cup cold water
1 1⁄3 cups nonfat dry milk powder
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:
In a medium bowl, stir milk into cold water. Microwave on high for 1 minute. Stir in sugar & vanilla extract. Refrigerate and cool before using.

Yields approximately 1 and 1/3 cups.

11 Responses

  1. So excited about this recipe! It is one of our favorites too. I just tried homemade coffee creamer and loved the simplicity and handiness of it. Thanks for sharing. Yum!

    • I’m so glad you like this recipe! I’m definitely going to try the homemade coffee creamer that you posted on your blog. My coffee will be so happy. :)

  2. I’ve been really enjoying your blog! The skillet snickerdoodle recipe was awesome, we loved it! I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Blog Award. You can learn more about the award and how to pay it forward here: http://homekeepingtheadventure.wordpress.com/2012/03/14/liebster-blog-award-thank-you/

    • Thank you so much for the lovely award Amanda! I’ll be stopping by your blog soon to learn how to pay it forward. :)

  3. Is the cream missing from the ingredients? Just wondering. :)

    • I know most recipes call for half and half or even whipping cream, but it’s just my personal taste preference not to use it. You could certainly add some though if you like. :)

  4. [...] mentioned in my last blog post that I would be baking a couple of treats this week using the Homemade Irish Cream that I made, and these cupcakes just happen to be one of those treats that I [...]

  5. sounds dangerous, and delicious!

  6. [...] another yummy treat that I whipped up using the Homemade Irish Cream that I made earlier this week – Irish Cream Chocolate Chip [...]

  7. [...] Homemade Irish Cream – Irish Cream liquer is pretty much a requirement for St. Patrick’s Day and Alaska Mom has a recipe for making your own! [...]

Leave a Reply

