Lemon Chocolate Chip Muffins

Lemon Chocolate Chip Muffins

Lemon Chocolate Chip Muffins

I’m so glad it’s finally March. To me it means that we’re one step closer to Spring! After receiving 119.9 inches of snow here this season, I’m really looking forward to seeing green grass and flowers again. A lot of folks around here are really hoping we break the snowfall record of 132.8 inches. Since we only need 12.9 inches of snow to tie the record, and we average 13.9 inches of snow from March 1 to April 30, I guess it’s possible… but I’d really rather not. :)

I find that one thing that really helps me get over the gloom of Winter and puts me in the mood for Spring, is baking citrus treats. I decided today to make some Lemon Chocolate Chip Muffins. I don’t know if any of my readers use any of the True Citrus products, but I absolutely love them. They’re so convenient, and they keep very well in a cabinet or pantry. Whenever I decide to make anything that calls for lemon, lime, or orange juice, I only need to go to my pantry and grab a few packets of whichever flavor I need, and I’m good to go.

For this recipe, I only used 1/2 tablespoon of True Lemon, and these muffins came out bursting with lemon flavor. The muffins are moist and light, and the chocolate flavor from the chocolate chips really pairs well with the lemon. The sprinkling of granulated sugar on top also adds a wonderful crispy texture to the muffins that I really love.

~Enjoy~




Lemon Chocolate Chip Muffins

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 1/4 cups granulated sugar, divided
2 eggs
3/4 cup milk
1/2 tablespoon True Lemon
1/4 cup water
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease muffin pan or line with paper liners.

In a small bowl or measuring cup, dissolve True Lemon in the 1/4 cup water. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine flour and baking powder. Set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk butter, 1 cup granulated sugar, eggs, and milk together. Stir in lemon water. Add flour mixture and mix just until combined. Fold in chocolate chips.

Spoon batter into prepared muffin pan, filling three-fourths full. Sprinkle remaining 1/4 cup granulated sugar evenly over tops.

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Let cool in pan on wire rack for 5 minutes. Remove from pan and let cool completely on rack.

Makes 12 muffins.

6 Responses

  1. Sounds great, but since 2 lemons just ripened on my Meyer lemon tree, I think I’ll use fresh juice. Can’t wait! Yum!

    • Oh, wow, I wish I had a Meyer lemon tree. Citrus trees are a little tough to grow here in Alaska though, so I’m not sure I’d be able to keep it alive long enough to get any fruit from it. :)
      Have a wonderful day!

  2. I would never have thought to pair lemon and chocolate. I’m trying these for sure.

  3. I think these would be a great preview of Spring. They certainly sound delicious, but I think they would be delicious any time of the year.

    • I agree, George… I think they would be delicious any time of year. :)
      Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

