Boston Cream Poke Cake

Boston Cream Poke Cake

Boston Cream Poke Cake

I have three thermometers placed around the outside of my home. Right now, one is reading 4 degrees below zero, another is reading zero degrees, and the third is reading 4 degrees above zero. So, I guess I’ll just average it out and say that it is zero degrees here right now.

We’ve spent much of the week enduring temperatures that stayed pretty much below zero. When it’s cold like this outside, instead of cranking up the thermostat inside, I like to heat up my home by using my favorite method – Baking!!

My latest creation is a Boston Cream Poke Cake. This is a great cake to make if you are feeling frustrated or stressed. There’s just something about taking a beautifully baked cake out of the oven and then poking holes all over it, that helps release my tension and makes me feel better. :)

I’ve seen some poke cakes made with gelatin and some with pudding. I think the gelatin seeps through the cake better and can make a very colorful looking cake. I like using pudding in a poke cake, because it makes a very moist cake and, depending on how many holes you poke in the cake, you can have a taste of pudding in just about every bite.

~Enjoy~




Boston Cream Poke Cake

Cake
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup milk

Pudding Mix
1 (3.4 ounce) box vanilla instant pudding
2 cups milk

Glaze
1 1/4 cups powdered sugar
2 tablespoons baking cocoa
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2-3 tablespoons milk

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 13×9-inch baking pan.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt; set aside.

In a large bowl, combine butter and sugar. Beat at medium speed with an electric mixer until fluffy. Beat in eggs, one at a time; beating well after each addition. Stir in vanilla. Add dry ingredients to butter mixture alternately with milk, beginning and ending with flour mixture.

Pour batter into prepared pan. Bake for 35 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let cool for 10 minutes. With the handle of a wooden spoon, poke holes halfway through cake in half-inch intervals.

In a medium bowl, combine pudding mix and milk. Whisk until smooth and slightly thickened, about 2 minutes. Pour over top of cake. Loosely cover cake and refrigerate for 1 hour.

For glaze: In a small bowl, combine powdered sugar, cocoa, vanilla and milk. Spread glaze over top of cake.

Refrigerate for 1-2 hours. Cut into squares to serve. Store in refrigerator.

2 Responses

  1. oh my here we go again..I just caught this on Facebook and ya know I hurried over to get this goodie…My favorite is Boston Cream Pie..YIKES…those pounds I just lost…Hey I’m in Florida no snow shoveling but I guess I could swim a mile..wait..their is gators here..I’ll row..hahaha…God Bless ya..Keep warm and keep that oven going..now I understand why you bake so much :) BarbZeee and Critters 3…”I’m back “…:)

    • See if you can send some of that warm Florida air up our way, BarbZeee. I know a lot of Alaskan’s who would like some of it right now. :) Take care and God Bless!!

Leave a Reply

