Hot Chocolate Cupcakes with Marshmallow Frosting

Hot Chocolate Cupcakes with Marshmallow Frosting

Hot Chocolate Cupcakes with Marshmallow Frosting

The temperature has finally warmed up to above zero degrees, but it’s still quite chilly outside – about 8 degrees right now, and it’s only supposed to warm up to 10 degrees. I’m glad I have nowhere to go today, so I think I’ll just stay inside, light a fire in the fireplace, and settle down on the couch with a good book.

Before I settle in on the couch, I might just grab another cup of coffee and one of these Hot Chocolate Cupcakes with Marshmallow Frosting. I don’t think it’s too early to have a cupcake, do you? ;)

These cupcakes are really good, and although they have a really rich and dark chocolate appearance, they are actually quite light and airy. The marshmallow frosting is something I came up with by trial and error. I had found many recipes online for marshmallow frosting, but most of the recipes called for marshmallow creme, which I didn’t have. I had actual mini-marshmallows that I wanted to use for the frosting.

I tried one recipe that I found online, which called for heating marshmallows and milk on the stove, and then mixing it with butter and vanilla. I thought I had followed the recipe exactly, but maybe I did something wrong, because the end result in no way resembled frosting.

I thought about it for awhile, and finally decided to try heating marshmallows and butter in the microwave for a few seconds, similar to the way you would melt baking chips when making a glaze or frosting, and then combining the mixture with powdered sugar and vanilla. I also added a little water, to help make the frosting of spreading consistency -so it wasn’t too thick for the delicate cupcakes. The result was exactly what I was looking for. The frosting is really delicious, and it set up beautifully on the cupcakes.

~Enjoy~




Hot Chocolate Cupcakes

3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup granulated sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon fresh ground Saigon cinnamon (or regular ground cinnamon)
2 large eggs
3/4 cup water
3/4 cup milk
3 tablespoons canola oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line standard muffin tins with paper liners; set aside.

In a large bowl, sift together cocoa powder, flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Add eggs, water, milk, oil, and vanilla extract. Mix with a hand mixer until smooth. (Note: batter will not be thick, it will have a watery consistency – this is normal)

Fill each muffin tin 2/3 full. Bake for 20 minutes, or until tops spring back when touched and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Remove from oven and cool in pan for ten minutes. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Frost with marshmallow frosting, if desired.

Makes approximately 16 cupcakes.

Marshmallow Frosting

1 cup mini-marshmallows
2 tablespoons butter
2 cups powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 tablespoons water

Place marshmallows and butter in a microwave safe bowl. Microwave on high power for 20 seconds. Stir until combined. Add powdered sugar, vanilla extract and water. Beat with an electric mixer until frosting becomes thick and of spreading consistency. Frost cooled cupcakes.

Hot Chocolate Cupcakes with Marshmallow Frosting

Hot Chocolate Cupcakes with Marshmallow Frosting

3 Responses

  1. Hi, Alaskan Mom. Your frosting made with marshmallows sounds very clever. I recall the motto, ” If at first you don’t succeed, try ,try again!”.
    I suspect you’re enjoying baking up these desserts in the kitchen.
    Those Pink Peppermint cookies looks so pretty, Can crushed peppermint candy canes be added in as well?

    Have you seen any more moose lately in your yard? I love the photos of the visit to your yard by the moose a while back this year!!

    Glad you’re keeping warm and cozy by the fireplace. Our temps here in the Northeast dipped into the 20′s and I had to get out my old med green down coat for two days, Have had that coat for so many years because it is warm but have outgrown the color green for a coat!!

    • I don’t tend to give up easily, so I usually try to find a way to make things work – as with the marshmallow frosting. Sometimes it takes a few tries, but eventually I get something I like and can work with. :)
      I don’t see why you couldn’t add some crushed peppermint candy canes into the Pink Peppermint cookies. That sounds like a really good idea, and I think I’ll try it next time.
      I haven’t seen any moose around my place lately… I think they’re probably hunkered down somewhere trying to stay warm. :)
      I hope it warms up there in the Northeast. Try to stay warm, and have a wonderful weekend!!

  2. Wow that is cold, Alaska looks like an absolutely beautiful place. It’s summer down under and we have just had a mini-heat wave (100+ F) Anyway back to the recipe. This recipe sounds simply divine, I’m going to give it a try – time to spoil the kids and myself :)

Leave a Reply

