Red Velvet Holiday Cookies

Red Velvet Holiday Cookies

Red Velvet Holiday Cookies

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday!! I, as usual, ate way too much and have way too many leftovers. Maybe one day I’ll learn to scale the menu down a little bit. ;)

Even though I’m still stuffed from overeating at Thanksgiving, I’ve already started baking Christmas cookies. I like to start my baking right after Thanksgiving, and store the cookies in the freezer. That way I always have something on hand for holiday visitors and cookie swaps.

Today’s cookie is a red velvet cookie dipped in white chocolate. The cookies are soft and moist, and they look really festive and pretty dressed up in their white chocolate and sprinkles.

~Enjoy~




Red Velvet Holiday Cookies

Cookies:
4 cups all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons baking cocoa
3 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup shortening
1 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
3 eggs, separated
2 teaspoons red food coloring
1 cup buttermilk

White Chocolate Dip:
1 (12 ounce) package white chocolate chips
6 teaspoons shortening
festive sprinkles

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease cookie sheets or line with parchment paper.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream shortening and sugars until light and fluffy. Beat in egg yolks and food coloring.

Alternately add dry ingredients and buttermilk to creamed mixture, beating well after each addition.

In a medium bowl, beat egg whites, with clean beaters, until stiff peaks form. Fold into batter.

Drop by tablespoonfuls onto prepared cookie sheets, 2 inches apart.

Bake for 12-14 minutes or until set. Remove to wire racks to cool completely.

For White Chocolate Dip: In a small heavy saucepan, melt white chocolate chips and shortening over low heat, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and let cool slightly.

Dip half of each cooled cookie into melted chocolate. Place cookies on waxed paper or parchment paper. Sprinkle chocolate with festive sprinkles, if desired.

Makes approximately 7 dozen cookies.

8 Responses

  1. yummy!…like a single whoopie pie without the fillling

  2. Thank you so much for posting this recipe! You have no idea how excited this has made me. I was looking for a third cookie recipe for Christmas presents and this has just saved my keister. :D

    I wish I had a freezer that I could put all my cookies in. That would save me so much trouble.

  3. Wow, these look delicious. Love red velvet cake.

    JoAnn
    Food4um.com

  4. [...] would have called these “Red Velvet Christmas Cookies,” but thanks, At Home In Alaska for the [...]

  5. WOW! A wonderful holiday treat!

Leave a Reply

