Skillet Molasses Cake

Skillet Molasses Cake

Skillet Molasses Cake

We’ve been having some really chilly weather here for the past couple of days. It’s been below zero in the evenings, and the day time temperatures have only been in the single digits. Some people are complaining that it’s too cold. I just shrug and say “That’s Alaska”.

When it’s cold like this, the thing I like to do most is bake. It not only helps to warm up my home, but it also leaves me with something tasty to snack on while I’m curling up in front of the fireplace.

Today I decided to bake a Molasses Cake in my cast iron skillet. I may have mentioned this before, but my cast iron skillet is a kitchen staple I can’t live without. It’s so versatile, you can cook almost anything in it. I’m always amazed at how often I use it.

I especially enjoy baking cakes in my cast iron skillet. They cook evenly, and turn out moist and delicious – as you can see from this Skillet Molasses Cake.

~Enjoy~




Skillet Molasses Cake

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoons ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/4 teaspoon allspice
3/4 cup brown sugar, packed
6 tablespoons butter
2/3 cup molasses
2/3 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 12-inch cast iron skillet, or make sure it’s well seasoned.

In a large bowl, blend the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger, cloves and allspice. Set aside.

In a small saucepan, combine brown sugar, butter and molasses. Stir over medium heat until melted and well combined. Stir in the milk and vanilla.

Stir the brown sugar and milk mixture into the dry ingredients. Mix just until smooth. Pour the batter into the skillet.

Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean.

Remove from oven and place on wire rack to cool.

Skillet Molasses Cake

Skillet Molasses Cake

6 Responses

  1. I have never thought to make cake in my cast iron skillet. I love it!

    • Cakes turn out really well in a cast iron skillet. Just be sure that the skillet is well seasoned, or coat it with a little bit of grease before pouring the batter in. Otherwise, it may stick.

  2. This would taste yummy on a cold New England night! :)
    ~Judy

  3. Yummy Yummy! I think I must go to the fridge and to look something… :)

Leave a Reply

