Pumpkin-Maple Coffee Cake

Pumpkin-Maple Coffee Cake

Pumpkin-Maple Coffee Cake

One of my favorite things to do on a lazy Sunday morning, is to sip on a cup of coffee, munch on a piece of coffee cake, and leisurely thumb through the Sunday newspaper. This Pumpkin-Maple Coffee Cake is going to make my morning routine tomorrow that much more enjoyable.

This coffee cake is super moist, and it’s loaded with some of my favorite Autumn flavors – pumpkin and maple. Plus, it has that crackly, crunchy topping that I really enjoy on a coffee cake.

The only drawback is that I made the Pumpkin-Maple Coffee Cake this afternoon, and now I’m not sure if I can hold on until tomorrow morning before I enjoy a piece. I guess I’m about to find out just how much willpower I really have. ;)

~Enjoy~




Pumpkin-Maple Coffee Cake

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup brown sugar, packed
2 eggs
1/2 cup pumpkin puree
1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/2 teaspoon maple flavoring
2/3 cup milk

Topping:
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon maple flavoring

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray bottom of 9-inch baking pan with nonstick cooking spray.

In a medium bowl combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl, combine brown sugar, eggs, pumpkin, applesauce and maple flavoring. Mix well.

Alternately add dry ingredients and milk to pumpkin mixture. Stir until well combined.

Prepare topping: In a small bowl, combine the 1/2 cup sugar and cinnamon. Add 1 teaspoon maple flavoring and mix with fork until well combined.

Spread half of batter in prepared baking pan. Sprinkle with half of topping mixture. Spoon remaining batter over top; spread evenly. Sprinkle with remaining topping.

Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Cool for 15 minutes. Serve warm.

4 Responses

  1. I love your recipes!
    It is that time again; fall! Pumpkin coffeecake is on my list! This looks so moist with the applesauce.

  2. What size pan did you use?

Leave a Reply

