Chocolate Covered Maple Cream Candy

Chocolate Covered Maple Cream Candy

Chocolate Covered Maple Cream Candy

In all honesty, I wasn’t quite sure how this recipe was going to turn out when I started making it. I’m not very talented when it comes to making candy, so I was a little bit worried about even attempting this. But, I rolled up my sleeves, took a deep breath, counted to five, and began.

Making the maple cream turned out to be no problem at all. In fact, it smelled so good while I was mixing it together, that I couldn’t resist tasting a tiny bit. It was delicious! I started thinking about all the different ways I could use the maple cream in other recipes, but then I snapped out of my daydream and continued on with the task at hand. I placed the bowl in the freezer and waited patiently for the maple cream to firm up.

When I began shaping the maple cream into balls, I found that I had to work fast, as it does tend to lose it’s firmness rather quickly. I managed to get them all shaped, and then I let them chill out in the refrigerator while I made the chocolate coating.

After that, the rest of the process turned out to be fairly easy. I covered all the maple cream in chocolate, and let the candy hang out in the refrigerator until the chocolate hardened.

When I finally got to take my first bite, I ended up being pleasantly surprised with the final result. The chocolate coating is silky and smooth, and the maple cream center is absolutely wonderful.

Maybe I won’t be so nervous the next time I attempt to make candy… Maybe. :)

~Enjoy~




Chocolate Covered Maple Cream Candy

8 ounces cream cheese, softened
4 cups powdered sugar
3 tablespoons maple flavoring
1 bag (12 oz) semi-sweet chocolate chips
4 tablespoons butter

Directions:
In a mixing bowl, cream the cream cheese, powdered sugar and maple flavoring until smooth. Cover and freeze until firm. (I let it stay in the freezer overnight)

Remove maple cream from freezer and shape into 1-inch balls. Place on waxed paper-lined baking sheet and let chill in refrigerator while you make the chocolate coating.

Chocolate coating: Place chocolate chips and butter in a microwave-safe bowl. Microwave for approximately one minute, or until melted. Stir until smooth.

Remove maple cream from refrigerator and dip in melted chocolate. Place back on waxed paper-lined baking sheet and refrigerate until chocolate has hardened.

When chocolate has hardened, remove candy from baking sheet and place in a plastic, or glass, food storage container. Store candy in refrigerator.

Makes approximately 30 candies.

4 Responses

  1. My gosh that looks goood! Since you have inspired me – maybe I can tackle candy making too. All I ever do is make fudge. I must branch out. *LOL *(You are doing an excellent job in the writing department as well. You are so descriptive. Keep up the good work.) ;)

  2. You did good!! Looks scrumptious : )

Leave a Reply

