Chocolate Chip Scones

Chocolate Chip Scones

I don’t know about you, but whenever anyone offers me a scone, the first thing that pops into my head is… I’m going to need a very large glass of milk to go with it. Most scones I’ve tried seem to be very, very dry.

A few weeks ago, I was visiting a relative and, lo and behold, they mentioned that they were going to bake a batch of scones. They assured me, however, that these scones were going to be very moist and not the least bit dry.

When the scones were ready to sample, I was quite surprised to discover that they were indeed very moist and very tasty. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten so many scones in my life, they were that delicious. And I didn’t even need one drop of milk. :)

~Enjoy~







Chocolate Chip Scones

4 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup granulated sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 stick (1/4 lb) butter
2 eggs
2 cups sour cream
2 cups chocolate chips

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease cookie sheet(s), or line with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and baking soda. Cut in butter until mixture resembles very small crumbs.

In a medium bowl, beat eggs and sour cream together. Add sour cream mixture to dry ingredients and stir until well mixed. (batter will be very sticky)
Stir in chocolate chips.

Use greased spoons to drop batter onto cookie sheets.

Bake for approximately 15 minutes. Remove to wire rack to cool.

Makes approximately 36 scones.

Leave a Reply

