Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Brownies

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Brownies

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Brownies

I know the calendar says that it’s the first day of Autumn today, but it’s feeling more like the first day of Winter around here.

Our high temperatures for the rest of the week are only supposed to reach into the mid to high 40’s, and termination dust can already be seen on the mountains. (“termination dust” is an Alaskan term meaning the first snow that covers the top of the mountains in the fall – signaling the termination of summer in Alaska)

Termination dust

Termination dust

What better way to spend a chilly afternoon though, than to bake something warm and tasty to snack on. Today I chose to bake a batch of Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Brownies.

These brownies are chewy, moist, and oh so very delicious. They almost make me forget that Winter is just around the corner….. almost. :)

~Enjoy~




Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Brownies

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup peanut butter, chunky or smooth
1/3 cup butter, softened
2/3 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
2 eggs
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups chocolate chips, divided

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour an 8-inch square baking pan.

In a small bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt; set aside.
In a medium bowl, cream together peanut butter and butter. Gradually blend in granulated sugar, brown sugar, eggs, and vanilla extract.
Stir flour mixture into the peanut butter mixture until well blended. Fold in 1/2 cup chocolate chips.

Spread batter into prepared pan and bake for 25 to 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Remove from oven and immediately sprinkle 1 cup chocolate chips on top. When chips begin to melt, spread to cover brownies.
Cool, and cut into squares.

Makes 16 brownies.



Google BookmarksFavorite with TechnoratiTweet Thisadd to del.icio.usDigg itStumble It!Add to Blinkslistadd to furladd to simpyseed the vineBuzz Up with YahooTailRank

14 Responses

  1. Termination dust, I haven’t heard that term in so long (I grew up in Juneau). That is a beautiful picture, it almost made me homesick. Almost. Then I thought about cold winds and wet feet and decided I’ll stick to lower latitudes. You’re braver than I.

    The brownies look super good too!

    • Thanks, R!
      The mountains sure do look pretty with the termination dust on them, don’t they? I don’t think I’m looking forward to snow just yet though. ;)

  2. [...] Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Brownies « At Home in Alaska alskamom.wordpress.com/2009/09/22/peanut-butter-chocolate-chip-brownies – view page – cached * Get Updates – Add “At Home In Alaska” To Any RSS Reader (Free!) * Get Updates by Email (Free!) — From the page [...]

  3. I learned something new reading this post – I never heard of termination dust before….but then I have never been to Alaska either. Beautiful scenery…and nice chocolatey, peanut buttery bars!

  4. mmmm, these look so chocolatey and good!

  5. absolute yum and a must try for our cookie jar here at the innregardless of the temps :)

    gp

  6. [...] though I just made Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Brownies earlier this week, my family was still in the mood for something peanut buttery. I chose to make [...]

  7. I made these the other night. They are delicious! I put the leftovers in the freezer and I found they are quite good frozen too!

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed the brownies, Bonnie!
      I didn’t have enough left over to freeze, but it’s good to know that they are good frozen too. :)

  8. My family loved these peanut butter chocolate chip brownies! Thanks for sharing. I will have to make many more.

Leave a Reply

