Skillet Blueberry and Cream Cheese Cinnamon Rolls

Skillet Blueberry and Cream Cheese Cinnamon Rolls

Skillet Blueberry and Cream Cheese Cinnamon Rolls

For today’s recipe, I decided to combine two of my favorite things – blueberries, and my new cast iron skillet. :)

I’ve been having a ball cooking all sorts of meals in my skillet, but I really get a kick out of baking in it. I don’t know what it is, but it just seems like the baked goodies come out better in the iron skillet. Maybe it’s just me though. ;-)

Anyway, I haven’t had a chance to go out hunting again for the seemingly elusive wild Alaskan blueberry yet, but I still had enough blueberries in my freezer to include in this tasty treat.

~Enjoy~




Skillet Blueberry and Cream Cheese Cinnamon Rolls

1 loaf (1 lb.) frozen bread dough, thawed
4 ounces non-fat cream cheese, softened (regular works fine too)
1/3 cup brown sugar
2 teaspoons cinnamon
6 ounces blueberries, fresh or frozen (thawed)

Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Roll dough into a 12″x16″ rectangle. Spread cream cheese evenly over the dough. Combine brown sugar and cinnamon; sprinkle mixture over cream cheese. Drop blueberries evenly over top.

Roll up dough, starting at long side. Pinch seam to seal. Cut roll into 1-inch slices. Place slices, cut side down, in a greased or well seasoned 10″ or 12″ iron skillet. Cover skillet with plastic wrap and let rise in a warm place until doubled in size – approximately 30-40 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Remove plastic wrap from skillet and bake for 20-30 minutes, or until lightly browned.

Enjoy plain, or frost with Cream Cheese Icing. (recipe below)

Makes 16 rolls.



Cream Cheese Icing
3 ounces cream cheese, softened
3 tablespoons butter, softened
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon milk
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

In a medium mixing bowl, beat cream cheese, butter and vanilla extract until light and fluffy. Beat in milk. Gradually add powdered sugar until icing is of spreading consistency. Frost rolls.



Google BookmarksFavorite with TechnoratiTweet Thisadd to del.icio.usDigg itStumble It!Add to Blinkslistadd to furladd to simpyseed the vineBuzz Up with YahooTailRank

16 Responses

  1. You know, I just came across frozen bread dough in my freezer today and was wondering what to do with it – this sounds like a GREAT idea! I like to make a special breakfast on Friday mornings for DH and DD and I’m sure they would love this!

    • I’m always surprised at the many ways you can use frozen bread dough, Carole. It’s so versatile.
      I hope DH and DD enjoy these. :)

  2. Nice twist on Ciinnamon rolls. Easy and delicious – that’s my kind of recipe. :) I wonder if it would bake as well in my Calphalon frying pan?

    • I don’t own a Calphalon frying pan myself, AKgypsy, so before I replied, I wanted to check the Calpalon website to make sure their frying pans are oven safe. It does say that the Calphalon frying pans are “Oven Safe: 500° F” – so I’m thinking you should be able to use it to make these rolls. Not sure if they will turn out as well as in an iron skillet, but if you give it a try, please let me know. :) (You can also just use a 9″x13″ baking pan too)
      Good luck! ;)

  3. Love your skillet! I wish I had one. Not only can you cook great food, it also gives your arms a workout. ;-) The rolls look delicious!

    • You’re right about that, Palidor. No need to lift weights when you are cooking and/or baking with an iron skillet. :)

  4. uh oh.. I’ve got the skillet..wouldn’t be with out one.. Married to a Southern I must have a pan of corn bread and made in Skillet and only way !
    Here comes them delicious looking Cream Cheese and Blueberry Cinnamon Rolls..oooooh my chair will be filling out again.. but hey what a delicious way..

    Again..another goodie added to the collection of things you must have !!!

    God Bless
    BarbZeee

    • Ohhh, I just love corn bread made in an iron skillet, BarbZeee.
      Haven’t had it for a while, so I just might have to whip some up this weekend. :)

  5. Love cinnamon rolls! This is a great recipe, I will bookmark it :)

  6. Easy and delicious – that’s my kind of recipe..

  7. what a fun way to make cinnamon rolls, and they look wonderful!

  8. This is just what I want on a cold Sunday morning in New England. Yummy. Thank you.

    • I know what you mean, Rose. We’ve been pretty cold here too.
      I know it’s the first day of Autumn, but it looks more like the first day of Winter here. Snow is already covering our mountains. :(

Leave a Reply

