Pistachio Cake

Pistachio Cake

For my St. Patrick’s Day celebration this year, I decided to make this lovely Pistachio Cake. I found the recipe on one of my favorite websites, Taste of Home, and it looked so delicious. However, the cake didn’t look that green to me in the picture they have posted on the Taste of Home website, but mine came out very green…which is great. :)

Pistachio Cake

The pistachio pudding mix is what tints the batter green, and also makes this cake very moist.

I also found some lovely Shamrock sprinkles at my local Joann Fabrics store, and sprinkled them on top of the glaze, which really topped off this cake nicely.

~Enjoy~



Pistachio Cake

6 teaspoons Ener-G Egg Replacer
8 tablespoons water
1 (18-1/4 ounce) package yellow cake mix
2 (1 ounce) packages Fat-Free Sugar-Free Jell-O Instant Pistachio Pudding & Pie Filling Mix
1 cup water
3/4 cup vegetable oil

Glaze

1 cup powdered sugar
1 tablespoon butter, softened
2 to 3 tablespoons milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 10-inch fluted tube pan.

Combine Ener-G Egg Replacer and the 8 tablespoons of water in a small glass or bowl. Mix well.

In a large bowl, combine the cake mix, pudding mixes, water, oil, and the egg mixture.
Beat with an electric mixer on low speed for 30 seconds. Beat on medium speed for 2 minutes.

Pour batter into prepared tube pan. Bake for 60-70 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.

Cool in pan for 10 minutes. Remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

In a small bowl, combine the glaze ingredients. Drizzle over cooled cake.

Yields 12 servings.

14 Responses

  1. Sensational Aka Mom for St Patrick’s Day!Love this Pistachio Cake..

    Happy St Patrick’s Day :0)

  2. I am not usually fond of pistachio but that cake looks really good.

  3. I’ve made this cake before! What a great idea to make if for St. Patrick’s Day. It’s delicious and so pretty!

  4. What a beautiful cake, so festive! I’m sure it tastes great too, I love pistachio

  5. Perfect cake to celebrate St Paddy’s Day! I love the green and the sponge looks so fluffy, delish.

    Maria
    x

  6. My blogger follower has not been showing me your updates for some reason, so I see I’ve missed a lot of your recent blog posts :( anyway, I am off now to catch up on all I’ve missed ! I love the St. Patrick’s day green feel of your Pistachio Cake – it looks very festive !

  7. This cake looks so good, and also so perfect for St. Paddies Day. I can just picture the little people dancing around it. :) Thanks Amy!

  8. Happy St. Patrick’s Day, Everyone!!
    I hope you all have a wonderful day!! :)

  9. How yummy! and how green! Perfect for St. Patick’s Day!

  10. [...] Home in Alaska made a stunning pistachio cake for Saint Patrick’s Day. I totally approve of putting pudding in the cake mix to make it [...]

  11. How funny look the green color gives to the cake! Sounds delicious!

  12. I badly need to make this cake, but we dont get this pudding mix that this and other recipes I encountered in the past here in the Middle East. I had bought a scrumptious pistachio cake at a Christmas bakesale that was just super, no body knew who made it and that lady left this country but I am still waiting to try out a pista cake with a real substitute for pudding in the mix. Is it just a custard base or what exactly…. pls nhelp

    carol

  13. This looks delicious and easy.! A must!!

Leave a Reply

